Mt. SAC Academic Senate Meeting Thursday, September 12, 2019

In attendance: Chisa Uyeki, Serena Ott, Kelly Rivera, Sun Ezzell, Melinda Bowen, Vicki Greco, Phil Wolf, Kristina Allende, Scot Childress, Emily Versace, Janet McMullin, Tania Anders, Shiloh Blacksher, Sara Mestas, Joan Sholars, Emily Woolery, Alejandro Andas, Lisa Amos, Donna Necke, Tim Engle Jennifer Hinostroza, Ellen Caldwell, Betsy Lawlor, Beta Meyer, Abby Wood, Jenny Leung, Janet Truttmann, Lucie Melendez, Roger Willis, Barry Andrews, Carol Impara, Mary Beth Barrios, Michelle Shear, Becca Walker, Jason Kordich, Christopher Hallstead, Hector Sanchez, Dana Miho, Dafna Golden, Allie Frickert-Murashige, April Tellez-Wagner, Ali Oliver, Robert Purcell, Dianne Rowley, Eva Rios-Alvarado, Bill Edwards, Scott Guth, Billie Lynes, Robert Bowen, Jamie Hooper, Briseida Ramirez Catalan, Sarah Nichols, Gene Ano, Karla Hernandez-Magallon, Christine Cummings, Luisa Howell

Absent: Lance Heard, Bernie Somers, Bruce Nixon, Dalia Chavez, Regina Martinez, Linda Rogus, Fred Kobzoff, Diana Felix Joseph Denny, Shari Wasson, Ema Burman, Marissa Case, Carolyn Robinson, Robert Augustus

1. Opening Items

A. Call to Order: Meeting called to order at 11:33 am.

B. Agenda Check:

Motion to suspend the rules to add the shared appointment of Donna Necke and L.E Foisia to share the Noncredit EDC seat as new action item G. Moved by L. Howell. Seconded by B. Meyer. Unanimously approved.

Motion to suspend the rules to move out of order and have the President's report shared prior to the consent agenda in order to welcome Mt. SAC's new VPI Richard Mahon. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by S. Ott. Unanimously approved. *Note, this will be recorded in the reports section of the minutes for clarity in the records.*

C. Public Comment:

- Jared Burton shared information with the body about Mt. SAC President's Students' Sustainability Awards Contest. Information is online at MtSAC.edu/sustainability.
- Kelly Rivera announced the annual Constitution Day 2019 event on September 17 at 11:30-1pm in 9C. She shared that the theme of this year's event is Freedom of the Press and will feature Professor Pham and the Mt. SAC Forensics team as well as mini lectures from Professors Rivera and Albertson and Librarian Rios-Alvarado. Associated Students will also be present with a voter registration booth and will be distributing pocket Constitutions.
- Melinda Bowen announced that the Pride Center will be expanding and invited faculty to stop by and check it out. She also respectfully requests that Senators take back to their departments to not send students on fact-finding assignments to the Pride Center in order to protect the privacy of students in the center.

2. Consent Agenda

Motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Moved by S. Ott. Seconded by E. Woolery. Approved Unanimously.

- A. Approval of August 29, 2019 Full Senate Minutes
- **B.** Student Preparation and Success appointments: Matt Munro, Math (19-20) and Sara Mestas, Counseling (19-21)
- C. SSSPAC appointment: Jesse Lopez, Counseling

3. Reports

A. President - Report given by C. Uyeki.

Guest appearance: Mt. SAC VPI Richard Mahon had 10 minutes to address the full Senate. He introduced himself to the Senate, discussed Guided Pathways, and welcomed suggestions to maintain good communication between his office and the campus faculty.

- **B.** Vice President Report given by S. Ott
- **C.** Legislative Liaison Report given by K. Rivera.

Motion to suspend rules and add letter of support for AB 48 drafted by K. Rivera as new action item H. Moved by S. Guth. Seconded by L. Howell. Unanimously approved.

- **D.** CTE Liaison Report by L. Amos.
- **E.** Non-credit Liaison No report.
- **F.** Faculty Association Report given by J. Sholars.
- **G.** Associated Students Report given by A. Andas.
- **H.** Curriculum & Instruction Council No report.
- I. Student Preparation & Success Council No report.
- J. Faculty Professional Development Council No report.
- **K.** Dual Enrollment Liaison Report P. Wolf.

4. Action Items

- A. Election of Vacant Co-Vice President
 - V. Greco opened the floor for nominations in addition to L. Heard, nominated at the 8/29 meeting. None given. Motion to close nominations. Moved by S. Guth. Seconded by L. Howell.

Balloted voting took place. The Elections committee exited to count the votes.

V. Greco reported the result. L. Heard was elected to the vacant Co-Vice President position.

B. Workgroup on Electronic Media AP

C. Uyeki shared with the body the need for a cross-campus taskforce to work on a new AP on accessibility of electronic media.

Motion to approve. Moved by S. Guth. Seconded by S. Ott. Abstained: M. Bowen. Motion carries.

C. Multiple Measures Taskforce Recommendations

Motion to accept recommendations. Moved by S. Ott. Seconded by A. Oliver. Abstained: K. Allende, D. Necke, and D. Miho. Motion Carries.

D. Rowley shared highlights from the report and resulting recommendations from the taskforce. S. Guth commended the work of the taskforce.

D. District Plan for Work Experience

Motion to approve. Moved by B. Meyer. Seconded by A. Oliver.

- P. Wolf asked questions regarding part 2 section A regarding how "qualified adjunct faculty" is defined. C. Impara mentioned she shared the same concerns and found similar language on page 4 of the document. She also stated that she consulted with others on the remainder of the document and believes the rest to be in compliance. S. Guth asked C. Uyeki if the document is in compliance. C. Uyeki stated that is was presented to her as being in compliance.
- B. Meyer withdrew motion to approve. A. Oliver concurred.

Motion to postpone. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by B. Meyer. Unanimously approved.

E. AP 4285 Credit for Extra Institutional Learning

Motion to approve. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by A. Oliver.

- A. Oliver shared concerns and stated that her department may need more time to consider their vote. E. Versace asked a process question.
- K. Rivera withdrew motion to approve. A. Oliver concurred.

Motion to postpone. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by A. Oliver. Unanimously approved.

Motion to suspend rules and consider Action items G and H prior to Action item F. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by S. Ott. Unanimously approved.

G. Shared appointment of Donna Necke and L.E Foisia to share the Noncredit EDC

Motion to approve. Moved by K. Rivera. Seconded by S. Ott. Unanimously approved.

H. Letter to Assembly Member Chen and Senator Chang in Support of AB 48

Motion to direct the Legislative Liaison to send. Moved by P. Wolf. Seconded by B. Meyer. Abstained: J. Truttman. Motion Carries.

F. Textbook and Instructional Materials Committee

Motion to approve. Moved by S. Ott. Seconded by L. Howell. Unanimously approved.

5. Discussion Items

- **A.** SP&S: Withholding of Student Records and Registration Privileges Discussion Occurred.
 - C. Uyeki advised Senators to share this with their departments for feedback prior to our next meeting.

6. Closing Items

- A. Information and Announcements
 - Upcoming Faculty Town Hall on the Student Centered Funding formula scheduled for Thursday October 10th from 3-4:30pm in Founders Hall
- **B.** Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 1:09pm

Minutes respectfully submitted by K. Rivera