Minutes Academic Senate Meeting Thursday, May 24, 2018

In attendance: Martin Ramey, Lina Soto, Serena Ott, Tim Engle, Kristina Allende, Scott Guth, Donna Necke, Dana Miho, Abby Wood, Vicki Greco, Hong Guo, Tamra Horton, Liesel Reinhart, Phil Wolf, Eloise Reyes, Regina Martinez, Landry Chaplot, Linda Rogus, Jennifer Hinostroza, Logan Snyder, Eric Bladh, Jenny Leung, Janet Truttman, Tony Henry, Roger Willis, Barry Andrews, Jean Metter, Michelle Shear, Rebecca Walker, Holly Cannon, Hector Sanchez, Rita Van Dyke-Kao, Kelly Rivera, Kate Cannon, Ema Burman, Dianne Rowley, Chisa Uyeki, Scot Childress, Karla Rivas, Bruce Nixon, Tiffany Kuo, Jaine Hooper, Gene Ano, Karla Hernandez-Magallon, Matthew Burgos,

Absent: Sun Ezzel, Maria Davis, Eric Kaljumagi, Joan Sholars, Fred Kobzoff, Naluce Ito Rocha Santana, Beta Meyer, Carol Impara, Patricia Maestro, Diana Felix, Joseph Denny, Jason Kordich, Shari Wasson, Giovanni Lanaro, Melinda Bowen, Michelle Boyer, Shelby White, Eugene Mahmoud, Lance Heard, Robert Augustus, Luisa Howell

Guests: Carlos Duarte, Uyen Mai

1. Opening Items

A. Call to Order: Meeting called to order at 11:34 am

B. Public Comment:

"Officer Carlos Duarte from Campus Safety stated his personal opinion in regards to the perceived need for a Resolution in Opposition to Classroom Disruptions by Campus Safety. He said he was caught off guard as to why the resolution was brought forward and was not aware of any issues involving Campus Safety, faculty and their classrooms. He invited more open communication between faculty and Campus Safety to address such issues in the future. He commented on the need for a cultural diversity and a de-escalation technique training within Campus Safety. He also advised that de-escalation skills were included in the Police Officer job description and that training should be given to Campus Safety department. He asked if the Academic Senate would be willing to advocate for the above training. He also stated that in no way whatsoever was he speaking on behalf of the Police and Campus Safety Department."

Uyen Mai, Director of Marketing and Communication, announced that the Marketing Department is looking for student success stories and for innovative programs to promote Mt.SAC and inspire students.

Matthew Burgos from the Theater Department announced that the department had secured the rights to the West coast premiere of 26 Pebbles, a production about gun violence in the United States. He invited faculty to attend Thu-Sun, Jun 6-10, at 8:00 pm and Sun at 2:00 pm.

Tamra Horton spoke on behalf of concerned Faculty Association members inviting faculty to a Medical Benefits Open Forum.

Michelle Shears from the Dance Department announced a fundraiser for the department's new dance scholarship, the JoElla Lewis Memorial Scholarship. Students will be able to apply for the scholarship in September 2018 and it will be presented at the Fall Repertory Dance Concert on October 26, 2018. JoElla Lewis was a former Dance Department Chair. She passed away in November 2017.

2. Consent Agenda

- **A.** Approval of May 10 Full Senate Minutes
- **B.** Fall 2018 Basic Skills Appointment: Barbara Mezaki
- C. Fall 2018 Board of Appeals Appointment: Bao-Chi Nguyen (Math)
- **D.** Fall 2018 Budget Committee Appointment: Vicki Greco (ACCESS), Tamra Horton (English)
- **E.** Fall 2018 Campus Equity and Diversity Committee Appointment: Eric Kaljumagi (LERN)
- **F.** Fall 2018 Career Technical Education Advisory Committee Appointments: Lisa Amos (FCS) and Mary Beth Barrios (Counseling)
- **G.** Fall 2018 Content Review: Jason Hayward (Counseling)
- **H.** Fall 2018 Distance Learning Committee: Michael Dowdle (Psychology)
- I. Fall 2018 Educational Design Committee Appointments: Serena Ott (World Languages), Karen Marston/Gregory Whitmore (Arts), Cecilia Thay(Business), Dianne Rowley (Learning Resources), Dhaval Doshi (Natural Sciences), Tony Rivas (Student Services), Cynthia Burnett (Student Services)
- **J.** Fall 2018 Equivalency Committee: Zahir Kahn (Physics and Engineering)
- **K.** Faculty Hiring and Prioritization Process Task Force: Cristina Hernandez (Art History), Cheryl Gilbert (PsycTech)
- L. Fall 2018 Faculty Professional Development Council: Danielle Manookian (Biology)
- M. Fall 2018 Institutional Review Board Appointments: Catherine McKee (Business), Misty Kolchakian (Psychology), Carmen Rexach (Biology), John Norvell (Biology)

- N. Fall 2018 Outcomes Committee Appointments: Mary Ann Gomez-Angel (Continuing Education)
- O. Fall 2018 President's Advisory Council Appointment: Joan Sholars (Math)
- **P.** Fall 2018 Professional Development Council Appointment: Dhaval Doshi (Chemistry)
- Q. Fall 2018 Scholarship Appointment: Tuan Vo, Chih-Ping Chang (World Languages), Amy Tull (PsycTech)
- **R.** Fall 2018 Senate Events Planning Committee Appointment: Allison Oliver (KIN)
- S. Fall 2018 Students of Distinction Appointment: Maria Estrada (English)
- T. Fall 2018 CTE Liaison Appointment: Lisa Amos (FCS)
- U. Asian/Pacific Islander AA Degree Task Force Appointments: Marlene Gallarde (Sociology) and Sylvia Henel (ABE)

Pulled by Dana Miho. Becomes Action Item F.

3. Reports

- **A.** President: Report given.
- **B.** Vice President: Report given. Council and Committee vacancies were announced. Senator-at-large election results were announced: Bruce Nixon and Scot Childress are the new senators-at-large.
- C. Legislative Liaison: Report given.
- **D.** CTE Liaison: No report.
- E. Non-credit Liaison: Report given.
- **F.** Faculty Association: Report given.
- **G.** Associated Students: Report given.
- H. Curriculum & Instruction Council: Report given.
- **I.** Student Preparation & Success Council: Report given.
- **J.** Professional Development Council: No report.
- **K**. Dual Enrollment Coordinator: Report given.

L. Coordinator Reports: Reports given.

4. Action Items

A. Dissolution of CTE Liaison position

Motion to approve by Kate Cannon. Seconded by Lina Soto.

Opposed: All senators. Motion fails.

B. Resolution 18-02 In Support of Faculty to Serve in Academic Coordinator Positions

Motion to approve by Kate Cannon. Seconded by Chisa Uyeki.

Debate occurred. Motion to amend by Liesel Reinhart. Seconded by Kristina Allende. Amendment approved unanimously.

Resolution 18-02 approved unanimously as amended.

C. Resolution 18-03 In Opposition to Classroom Disruptions By Campus Safety

Motion to approve Scott Guth. Seconded by Chisa Uyeki.

Motion to substitute by Tim Engle. Seconded by Jean Metter. Substitution approved unanimously.

Resolution 18-03 approved unanimously.

D. Resolution 18-04 Participation in the New Faculty Seminar

Motion to approve by Kate Cannon. Seconded by Liesel Reinhart.

Motion to amend by Kristina Allende. Seconded by Kate Cannon. Abstaining: Chisa Uyeki. Amended motion carries.

Resolution 18-04 unanimously approved as amended.

E. Request for Partnership Resource Team Visit

Motion to approve by Scott Guth. Seconded by Chisa Uyeki. Approved unanimously.

F. Asian/Pacific Islander AA Degree Task Force Appointments: Marlene Gallarde (Sociology) and Sylvia Henel (ABE)

Motion to approve by Lina Soto. Seconded by Chisa Uyeki.

Motion to amend to appoint only Marlene Gallarde. Moved by Dana Miho. Seconded by Lina Soto. Approved unanimously.

Amended appointment approved unanimously.

5. Discussion Items

A. AP 5050 Student Success and Support Program

Discussion occurred.

6. Closing Items

- **A.** Information and Announcements
- **B.** Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 1:02 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Serena Ott