Minutes Academic Senate Meeting Thursday, April 12, 2018

In attendance: Martin Ramey, Serena Ott, Tim Engle, Scott Guth, Sun Ezzel, Dana Miho, Abby Wood, Vicki Greco, Hong Guo, Tamra Horton, Liesel Reinhart, Phil Wolf, Joan Sholars, Regina Martinez, Landry Chaplot, Jennifer Hinostroza, Logan Snyder, Eric Bladh, Janet Truttman, Tony Henry, Barry Andrews, Carol Impara, Patricia Maestro, Diana Felix, Michelle Shear, Eloise Reyes, Rebecca Walker, Joseph Denny, Holly Cannon, Jason Kordich, Hector Sanchez, Rita Van Dyke-Kao, Shari Wasson, Kelly Rivera, Kate Cannon, Giovanni Lanaro, Ema Burman, Dianne Rowley, Chisa Uyeki, Scot Childress, Karla Rivas, Tiffany Kuo, Jaine Hooper, Shelby White, Eugene Mahmoud, Karla Hernandez-Magallon, Matthew Burgos

Absent: Lina Soto, Kristina Allende, Donna Necke, Eric Kaljumagi, Maria Davis, Linda Rogus, Fred Kobzoff, Naluce Ito Rocha Santana, Jenny Leung, Jean Metter, Bruce Nixon, Gene Ano, Lance Heard, Robert Augustus, Luisa Howell

Guests: President Scroggins, Emily Woolery

1. **Opening Items**

- A. Call to Order: Meeting called to order at 11:32 am
- B. Public Comment:

Kelly Rivera (Political Science) announced that students are hosting the 39th Congressional District Candidate Forum on 4/13 at 10 am in 9C. This is in in collaboration with the Political Science Club. There will be six congressional candidates present. There will also be voter registration booths and campaign job information booths.

Tiffany Kuo (Music) announced that the Music department is hosting a free concert on 4/22 at 2:00 pm in Feddersen Recital Hall.

2. Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of March 22 Full Senate Minutes
- B. Approval of March 29 Special Session Full Senate Minutes
- C. Equivalency Committee Appointment: Niki Tran (ID) (2018-2021)
- D. Outcomes Coordinator Appointment: Emily Woolery (Library) (2018-2020)
- E. Honors Coordinator Appointment: Misty Kolchakian (Psychology) (2018-2020)

Motion to approve consent agenda. Moved by Liesel Reinhart. Seconded by Joan Scholars. Approved unanimously.

3. Reports

- A. President: Report given.
- B. Discussion with President Scroggins: President Scroggins provided information on the

selection process of a new chief of police and on the Early College High School.

- C. Vice-President: No report.
- D. Legislative Liaison: Report given.
- E. CTE Liaison: No report.
- F. Noncredit Liaison: Report given.
- G. Faculty Association: Report given.
- H. Associated Students: Report given.
- I. Curriculum & Instruction Council: Report given.
- K. Professional Development Council: No report.

4. Action Items

A. Officer and Director Elections for 2018-2020:

Martin Ramey was elected President unanimously. Lina Soto was elected first Vice-President unanimously. Chisa Uyeki was elected second Vice-President unanimously. Sun Ezzell and Vicki Greco were elected to the two director positions.

B. Open Nominations for Senator-at-Large Elections for 2018-2020

Nominations for senator-at-large were opened. Scot Childress, Tim Engle, and Kate Cannon were nominated.

C. Creation of an A.A. Degree in Asian Pacific Islander Studies Task Force.

Moved by Chisa Uyeki. Seconded by Kate Cannon. Approved unanimously.

D. Recommendation from Outcomes Committee regarding ACCJC's Recommendation for SLOs on Syllabi

Moved by Chisa Uyeki. Seconded by Kate Cannon.

Emily Woolery presented the ACCJC's Recommendation for SLOs on Syllabi.

Academic Senate voted to approve the recommendation. Opposed: Vicki Greco, Tamra Horton, and Shari Wasson. Abstaining: Holly Cannon, Liesel Reinhart, Eloise Reyes, Kelly Rivera. Motion carries.

E. Joint Task Force with Faculty Association re: BP 3410, AP 3410, BP 3050, AP 3050, BP 7700 and AP 7700 (E. Kaljumagi/J. Sholars)

Moved by Chisa Uyeki. Seconded by Kate Cannon. Approved unanimously.

F. Disbanding of the Dual Enrollment Mutual Agreement Committee (DEMAC)

Moved by Chisa Uyeki. Seconded by Kate Cannon. Approved unanimously.

G. A.A. Emphasis in Humanities Task Force Recommendations

Moved by Chisa Uyeki. Seconded by Kate Cannon.

Recommendation to postpone by Liesel Reinhart and seconded by Kate Cannon. Approved unanimously. Action item is postponed to 4/26/2018.

5. Discussion Items

A. Senate Task Forces: Discussion occurred.

6. Closing Items

A. Information and Announcements: None.

B. Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 12:58 pm.

Minutes submitted by Serena Ott