

ACADEMIC SENATE

Martin Jones-Ramey, Esq., President (x5436) Lina Soto, Vice President (x5434) Bruce Nixon, Secretary (x5433) Tim Engle, Director (x5641) Scott Guth, Director (x4211) Dana Miho, Director (x5248) Abby Wood, Esq., Director (x5464) Vacant Director (2017-2018) Vicki Greco, Senator at Large (x5646)
Hong Guo, Senator at Large (x6490)
Tamra Horton, Ph.D., Senator at Large (x4753)
Liesel Reinhart, Senator at Large (x4616)
Phil Wolfe, Senator at Large (x4421)
John Vitullo, Curriculum Liaison (x6302)
Donna Necke, Legislative Liaison (x6325)
Eric Kaljumägi, President – Faculty Association (x6225)
Joan Sholars, Vice President – Faculty Association (x4610)

Academic Senate Agenda

August 31, 2017 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

I. Call to Order

II. Consent Agenda

- A. Approval of Minutes of June 1, 2017
- B. Academic Senate Curriculum Liaison Appointment (2017-18): John Vitullo, Communication
- C. Academic Senate Assistant Curriculum Liaison Appointment (2017-19): Julie Laverty, Communication
- D. Legislative Liaison Appointment (2017-18): Donna Necke, Adult Basic Education
- E. Noncredit Liaison Appointment (2017-18): Dana Miho, ESL
- F. President's Advisory Council Appointments (2017-18): John Vitullo; Lina Soto, Counseling
- G. Campus Equity and Diversity Committee Co-Chair Appointment (2017-18): Lina Soto
- H. Bookstore Commission Appointment (2017-18): Martin Ramey, Business Administration
- I. Budget Committee Appointments: Joan Sholars, (co-chair) (2017-20); Bobby Bates, Accounting (2017-19) (replacing Martin Ramey)
- J. Curriculum & Instruction Council Appointments (2017-18): John Vitullo (cochair); Lina Soto
- K. Educational Design Committee Appointment (2017-18): Cynthia Burnett, Student Services
- L. Equivalency Committee Appointment (2017-18): John Vitullo
- M. Faculty Professional Development Committee Appointment (2017-20): Masoud Roueintan, Chemistry
- N. International Students Advisory Committee Appointment (2017-20): Roxan Arntson, Communication
- O. Institutional Review Board Appointment (2017-20): Beta Meyer, Biology
- P. New Faculty Seminar Coordinator Appointment (2017-18): Sun Ezzell, Learning Assistance
- Q. PRIDE Center/LGBTQ Coordinator (2017-18): Melinda Bowen, Kinesiology
- R. Scholarship Committee Appointment (2017-20): Maria Estrada, English

- S. Senate Events Planning Committee Appointment (2017-18): Ali Oliver, Kinesiology; Lina Soto
- T. Student Disciplinary Panel Appointments (2017-2018): Sam Atherton, Adjunct-Accounting; Diana Felix, Counseling; Vicki Greco, Counseling; Zina McFarlin-Stagg, EOA; David McLaughlin, Rad Tech; Doug Mullane, English; Tony Rivas, Counseling; Giuseppe Tonini, Sociology; Lysette Trejo, Counseling; David Yost, Tech/Health; Sara Mestas, Counseling; Ali Oliver
- U. Student Preparation & Success Council Appointments (2017-18): Lina Soto (co-chair); Ned Weidner, English (replacing Luisa Howell)
- V. A.A. Math Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Marissa Case, Mathematics; Lisa Morales, Mathematics; Jason Hayward, Counseling; Rudy Santacruz, Counseling
- W. A.A. Business Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Bernadette Flamneo, Counseling; Jesse Lopez, Counseling
- X. A.A. Kinesiology Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Shane Poulter, Counseling
- Y. A.A. Language Arts Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Eddie Lee, Counseling, Solène Halabi, World Languages; Serena Ott, World Languages
- Z. A.A. Communication Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Bernie Somers, Counseling, Allen Wang, Counseling
- AA. A.A. Environmental Studies Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Will Daland, Counseling; Chan Ton, Counseling
- BB. A.A. Fine Arts Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Alana Bachor, Counseling; Emily Versace, Counseling
- CC. A.A. Humanities Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Mary Beth Barrios, Counseling
- DD. A.A. Information Technology Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Jeremy Hart, Counseling; Stacie Nakamatsu, Counseling
- EE. A.A. Music Area of Emphasis Degree Review Task Force (2017-18): Ana Silvia Turcios, Counseling
- FF. Basic Skills Coordinating Committee Appointment: Kimberly Quintana-Mullane, English (filling the Gen Ed at-large seat)
- GG. C-TEAC Appointment: L.E. Foisia, Continuing Ed (replacing Suzanne Avila as noncredit rep) (2017-19): Mary Beth Barrios, Counseling (2017-18)
- HH. Senate Vice-President Appointment: Lina Soto
- II. Senate Secretary Appointment: Bruce Nixon
- III. Public Comment
- IV. Officer Reports
 - a. President
 - b. Vice President
- V. Legislative Liaison Report

Academic Senate Agenda August 31, 2017

- VI. CTE Liaison Report
- VII. Noncredit Liaison Report
- VIII. Faculty Association Report
 - IX. Associated Students Report
 - X. Council Reports
 - A. Curriculum & Instruction Council Report
 - B. Student Preparation & Success Council Report
 - C. Professional Development Council Report

XI. Action

- A. Open Nominations for Senate Director Position
- B. 2017-18 Senate Handbook
- C. SP&S: BP 5000 Student Success
- D. SP&S: BP 5015 Residence Determination
- E. SP&S: BP 5040 Student Records, Directory, and Privacy Information
- F. SP&S: BP 5052 Open Enrollment
- G. SP&S: BP 5055 Enrollment Priorities
- H. SP&S: BP 5120 Transfer Center
- I. SP&S: BP 5200 Student Health Services
- J. SP&S: BP 5400 Associated Students Organization
- K. SP&S: BP 5410 Associated Students Elections
- L. SP&S: BP 5420 Associated Students Finance
- M. SP&S: BP 5500 Standards of Conduct
- XII. Discussion
- XIII. Information/Announcements
- XIV. Adjournment