

ACCREDITATION NOTES

An Update on the Mt. San Antonio College Accreditation Self-Study

Preparation for 2010 Accreditation Site Visit Begins

■ **Accreditation**—(ə-krĕd'ĭ-tā'shən), noun. The process of recognizing (an educational institution) as maintaining standards that qualify the graduates for admission to higher or more specialized institutions or for professional practice (Merriam Webster's Dictionary).

Under the leadership of Accreditation Liaison Officer President John Nixon and Accreditation Co-chairs Barbara McNeice-Stallard (*Director*, Research and Institutional Effectiveness) and Kristina Allende (*Professor*, English, Literature, and Journalism), Mt. SAC's preparation of the 2010 Accreditation Self-Study is underway.

Four Self-Study Standard Teams have convened, and each team's co-chairs attended a Self-Study Team Workshop, hosted by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC), at Irvine Valley College on September 25, 2008. The Self-Study Standard Teams are composed of members representing each of the constituencies at Mt. SAC: managers, faculty, classified, confidential, and students.

Articulated in the Self- Study will be Mt. SAC's response to four standards: Standard I—
Institutional Mission and Effectiveness,
Standard II—Student Learning Programs and Services, Standard III—Resources, and Standard IV—Leadership and Governance.
Members of the Self-Study Standard Teams will present a comprehensive and evidenced representation of the manner in which Mt. SAC meets the four accreditation standards. The Self-Study will be presented to the ACCJC, and its site visit to Mt. SAC will occur in October 2010.

Dec. 2008

The journey begins. Join us!

Accreditation Liaison Officer

Dr. John Nixon, President/CEO

Accreditation Steering Committee

President's Advisory Council (PAC)

Accreditation Co-chairs

Barbara McNeice-Stallard

Director, Research & Institutional Effectiveness

Kristina Allende, Professor English, Literature & Journalism

Accreditation Coordinator

Odette Richardson

Research Assistant



ACCREDITATION NOTES

President/CEO: John S. Nixon, Ph.D. Co-Editors: Barbara McNeice-Stallard and Kristina Allende

Published by the Marketing & Communication Office

Standard I Committee

Co-chairs:

Grace Hanson, Director,
Disabled Students Programs & Services

Dr. Kimberly Earhart, Professor, History

Members:

Jemma Blake-Judd, Associate Dean, Technology & Health

Meghan Chen, Dean,

Library & Learning Resources

Kelly Coreas, Professor, Respiratory Therapy

Eula Gray, Student Relations Specialist, Student Life

Rene Kouassi, Student, Team Assistant

Dr. Chiou Yueh (Maria) Tsai, Research Analyst, Research & Institutional Effectiveness

Helen Yi, Student

Standard II Committee

Co-chairs:

Dr. Virginia Burley, Vice President, Instruction **Gary Enke**, Professor, English, Literature, and Journalism

Members:

Liza Becker, Director, ESL

Priyadarshini Chaplot, Educational Research Assessment Analyst, Research & Institutional Effectiveness

Martha Diaz, Educational Advisor, Counseling & Advising

Dr. LeAnn Garrett, Curriculum Liaison, Instruction Joanne Greenspan, Curriculum Specialist, Instruction

Yesenia Leon, Student

Dr. Susan Long, Dean, Arts Division

Patricia Maestro, Counselor, Bridge Programs

Cheryl McGee, Media Services Coordinator, Media Services

Jim Ocampo, Director, Assessment & Matriculation

Darrow Soares, Professor, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration

Brandie White, Associated Students President

Standard III Committee

Co-chairs:

Gary Nellesen, Director, Facilities Planning & Management

Dr. Terri Long, Professor, Earth Science & Astronomy

Members:

Esmeralda Alvarez, Student

Linda Baldwin, Associate Vice President, Administrative Services

Ian Francisco, Data Communications Tech, Information Technology

Suzi Ganoe, Executive Assistant II, Human Resources

Trinda Hoxie, Director, Human Resources

William Hsu, Student

Juan "Johnny" Jauregui, Landscape Technician, Grounds Virginia Macias, Accounting Tech., Auxiliary Services Kerry Martinez, Executive Assistant, Fiscal Services Pauline Swartz, Professor, Librarian

Standard IV Committee

Co-chairs:

Dr. Dyrell Foster, Director, Student Life **Jennifer Galbraith**, Professor, Mathematics & Computer Science

Members:

Dr. Deborah Boroch, Interim Dean, Instructional Services

Diana Casteel, Executive Assistant to the President & Board of Trustees

Mark Fernandez, Web Specialist, Information Technology Michelle Grimes-Hillman, Academic Senate President

John Heneise, Dean, Business Division

Matt Judd, Interim Associate Dean,

Natural Sciences Division

Carolyn Keys, Dean, Student Services

Robert "Bob" Lee, Systems Programmer, Information Technology

Paul Medina, Student

Xiwen Wang, Student